Home > Design, Ideas, Object > The new black!

The new black!

Renova Black toilet paper

For the friend who has everything! According to Renova, it’s

“fashionable, unique and just right for your sensual needs”.

Well, I’ll be……… I don’t often consider this a sensual experience however it is an indication of what lengths (measured in number of sheets), we would go to to make our decor look just right. I have to admit I often wonder why puppies? And it is a vast improvement on seashells and starfish. They hardly denote a soft and comfortable experience that makes me wonder what is the obsession with crustaceans? Can anyone remember the movie with Sylvester Stallone and Sandra Bullock and the mystery of the three seashells in the bathroom? Now that’s an innovation that makes the mind boggle!

According to the Delaware Online news journal

The arrival of black toilet paper is fraught with cultural meaning, according to French trend-forecasting agency Nelly Rodi, a reflection of society’s shift toward “inward-looking puritanical sobriety and austerity … an almost covert penchant for luxury.”

I beg to differ, I see it as quite the opposite, a statement of luxury and excess, otherwise you would be using the recycled, unbleached variety. And what about the dyes, are they environmentally friendly?

Categories: Design, Ideas, Object
  1. January 31, 2006 at 4:31 pm

    Frankly, this is just disturbing. I mean, there are certain things you just don’t mess with…the color of toilet paper, for instance.

  2. January 31, 2006 at 8:16 pm

    Absolutely right but it does serve to show that absolutely everything has some element of design be it good, bad or indifferent. In this case it’s certainly not indifferent.

  3. February 1, 2006 at 2:21 am

    I can completely see where you are coming from. If I were to be honest, I would have to say that I know of no item in human life (no matter how utilitarian) that hasn’t been tinkered with by designers…whether it be a pleasant tinkering or an unpleasant tinkering.

  4. Pino
    July 24, 2006 at 5:53 pm

    I must admit, I had heard about this colored toilet paper and I could not understand what the big deal was. On my last trip to London, I decided to buy the black tp at Harrods and I was amazed how good it actually smells. My bathroom now smells amazing! This stuff definitely beats the smell of my girlfriends potpourri by far and it’s 3-ply! I also saw the red tp and it looks way cool, much better than on Renova’s website. Next time I’m getting the red tp for sure.

  5. July 25, 2006 at 8:24 am

    Nice plug. It’s good to get some feedback from people who have used the product but your girfriend would sure be puzzled if you came home with a roll of coloured 3 ply instead of a bunch of flowers. On a more serious note – it sounds like a good novelty item or something to place on the roll holder just before guests arrive…..wonder how they would respond? By the way are you able to describe the scent?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

