Home > Design, Ideas, Women > Up to You – a new shopping concept in Toronto

Up to You – a new shopping concept in Toronto

DSCF0039.JPG

Welcome to the latest in shopping experiences in Toronto. Located at Queen St East is Up to You, a concept store with a voyeuristic element for your shopping pleasure. Pictured above is the quaint entrance of what is set to become one of the most interesting shopping experiences in Toronto or possibly even further. I'm very pleased to have been invited to visit this intimate residence/ retail showroom to meet with founders Bill and Dimitra – two very passionate lovers of design.

So what would be the best way to describe my experience (and that of friends)? Hmmm…I've laboured over this for a some time, do I give a rating on a scale from zero to ten, do I base my judgement on presentation, setting, location, accessibility, intimacy, variety of design objects, originality or all of the above (plus some). I would firstly like to say there is great diversity in what the store holds and the choices of both Dimitra and Bill who have an excellent eye for the unusual and interesting is awesome. It's an ideal place to shop for a gift, that special little something for yourself and generally a great place to browse and learn about design and designers. My exciting find of the day was the Groove Tube pictured below but the list of favourite picks would be as long as my arm.


Image from Velocity

The shopping experience was like no other. Set in the upstairs apartment of the residence we scaled the staircase to enter into the hallway that had rooms to the left and to the right. I was surprised to see the apartment set up like a home with dinning table and chairs, bed in the bedroom, storage shelves, lounge and TV. Everything was in place displaying designer accessories throughout. At first I thought Dimitra and Bill lived on the premises setting up shop each day and storing everything at night, but I soon realised it was part of the concept. Not only is the concept a surprising one but it allows a more leisurely shopping experience, one where you feel welcomed to experience someone's environment, make friends and share ideas and shop at the same time. I for one certainly felt relaxed, guided through the premises by a welcoming couple who were more than interested to assist and discuss their ideas about design or simply let you roam and enjoy the space.

Dimitra and Bill are a delightful brother and sister team bringing together this unique and wonderful shopping experience. I know my Toronto friends were extremely grateful to find such a gem and will be returning again. For myself, I felt delighted to enter a space that to me felt like my blog come to life. We have a shared sensibility that I find uncanny. Thanks for bringing it to life! I should also add that Dimitra and Bill project a light show of the shop and it's items though the front window (upstairs of course) at night.  Look out for it if you're driving or taking the tram past the store.

Do check out their website – there are numerous items available on-line. have fun shopping.

Categories: Design, Ideas, Women
  1. Nicholas Gomes Serrao
    June 9, 2006 at 1:25 am

    I love my Groove Tube! Thanks for introducing me to something new in my own backyard. The location is a bit out of my way but getting there may actually add to the general experience. I’ll definitely have a look at their website.

  2. June 12, 2006 at 7:35 pm

    Glad to be of service Nick and thanks for many other Toronto surprises. Still mourning the many things I didn’t buy at the Kensington Markets…

  1. December 11, 2006 at 10:35 am

Leave a Reply

